AT LEAST HE IS A CHRISTIAN

I knew I grew up when I want to bury my face out of shame every time I look back and remember my gold standard – any guy will do as long as he is a Christian.

So there’s this guy I met when I was 19 and he is a Christian, or so I thought. Plain, straight, and simple he is my type and I went gaga over him. He invited me to services on Sundays and given the thought that we have a mutual understanding, I go for the sake of seeing him. My heart melts when I see him leading the service, jumping to the music, shouting his praises, and I thought maybe he’s the one for me.

We didn’t end up together.

I was in a terrible state because I thought I’d never find someone like him again. I prayed about ending up with any guy as long as he’s a Christian thinking this would satisfy my wanting of a godly relationship. Then six years later, I was committed to a Pastor.

The waiting process was painful because my standard was compromised. During that time I learned what a true Christian guy is.

He isn’t someone who leads the service, jumps to the music, shouts his praises, and sends confusion to a woman. His life’s barometer isn’t only what he shows in the church or posts on social media. He is not only committed in the ministry but also His intimacy with God.

He is willing to be discipled so he could lead. He is more than a hearer of the Word, but a doer of the Word.

My standard over the years was realigned when I was finally discipled and led. It’s easy to find a Christian guy, but a man who understands his purpose and brings you closer to God and not to sin is always worth the wait.